Skip to content

Sound Poem 6

March 28, 2010

take
drink
perverse
you
possessed by cries
to be improved

don’t
think
protect
know
I could explain
but never moved

put through the place you hold me so
take just a person I saw low

it’s
right
sick

March 20-28, 2010, supervised generation from type-based n-grams of Minor Threat, Suicidal Tendencies, and Joy Division lyrics using stochastic beam search and phonemic evaluation

ok the depression is starting to lift a little. well, you know, one thing I was always a little worried about was accidentally copying too much from the source text. jurafsky and martin (2000) explain how this can happen in n-gram models with smaller data sets. (they use poetry as an example, heh.) So, you know, I wrote a little applet to compare two texts and find common trigrams.

Sound Poem 6 has only one trigram in common with the source texts (“you hold me”) but note that in my implementation newlines break trigrams. Sound Poem 5 has three common trigrams: “like screaming at”, “about staple shit”, and “windows ten in”. The first one I knew about, the second doesn’t surprise me, but the third one does. It just goes to show, you know. Anyways, I made it a separate applet in case you want to check your Gnoetry output or compare your students’ term papers or something: http://www.eddeaddad.net/textcompare/

OK anyways, listen I put my updated sketchbook online if you want to check it out, as far as I know it won’t crash your machine, and it might not always keep the bigram model when inserting individual words or rhymes, but wtf, it does what I need it to do, right? ok, look here: http://www.eddeaddad.net/epogees/

ok, later.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric Elshtain permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:54 pm

    If only you could find a band to record this–some of the earliest work Jon Trowbridge and I did with Gnoetry was with lyrics–mostly hip hop, as we found a Brazilian site devoted to transcribing contemporary urban hip hop songs. One of those early haiku spurred us on:

    But fuck the whole cake
    bitch, you crazy, you crazy–
    make a move and see.

    In any case, these sound poems are excellent.

    • eddeaddad permalink*
      March 31, 2010 3:45 am

      thx bro, back atcha!

      Back when I started this I hooked up my generator to a text-to-speech system and had it read poetry over beats played in Audacity but it was pretty clear that it’d take a lot of work to make it sound good, and it wasn’t a direction I cared to pursue… :(

Leave a Reply

