Skip to content

More SciFi Gnoetry

May 14, 2010
by

Narrative-wise, these are in no particular order, but a larger picture is starting to form in my mind (I feel like I’m breaking some kind of rule, thinking about this with a nose for narrative). I think I’d like to get at least 10 of these out before trying to reorganize them into… something. That’d be version 1.0, I suppose. In any event, here’s a third portion of something I’m now thinking might have “Savage(s)” in the title. (And I’m thinking I’m going to have to get some Lovecraft in the mix pretty soon.)

.3

They did no deed of water.
They listened, They pried
into my tracks,
where I sat down;
one day
They came in
crowding.

Oh, why was I
a fountain of
fierce electric brilliance?

A length of rope,
earnestness & yearning,
that’s all.
To accept Them
would be to change this world.
To not accept Them
would be to change this world.

O brave new garment morphia,
cohabit,
sleep.

I listened, the Savage spoke
from a very particular inclination:
“Each is our own.
We don garment after garment
with the common electric shock.”

Sources are the same: Walden & Brave New World

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eddeaddad permalink*
    June 2, 2010 3:16 am

    > I feel like I’m breaking some kind of rule, thinking about this with a nose for narrative

    You are doing what the computer cannot yet do. The computer is grateful.

    I dig it when you add Lovecraft next post.

    • Matthew permalink
      June 2, 2010 9:20 am

      Thanks–I’m looking forward to the inclusion of Lovecraft, too. We’ve had a busy couple weeks, and I haven’t quite finished compiling a source text of Lovecraft’s writings, but I hope to soon. Even as someone who doesn’t “work”, it’s hard to find the time with four little kids running around the house!

Leave a Reply

