Skip to content

Even More SciFi Gnoetry

June 4, 2010
by

Finally got a good chunk of Lovecraft cobbled together (so far about half the writing found here) to add to the mix, which brings the sources to 3: Walden, Brave New World, and Lovecraftian Miscellany. The addition of Lovecraft is VERY apparent, here, and should I decide to make this all something a bit more coherent, that will have to be addressed.

The story is becoming more pronounced in my mind, especially with this one. Still not sure just how I feel about that, but I’m enjoying it immensely nonetheless.

.5 (The Earthly Beginnings)

Years, years ago,
They plunged through abysses
in a rush of vile drums,
toward the white steepled towns
that glittered oddly
amid the void of agony yet unpeopled.

Middle height, black-haired
hook-nosed, foreheaded
and with other identifying marks
of human tenancy or passage,
he watched Them fall.

They were sounding somehow
the most definite statements,
countenances probably harder still,
though mostly not heard just then,
as They had never heard
of other men’s lives.

Not until the din
from the universe’s attic
stood lean, declaring nothing,
did slope downward Their corpses;
“O brave new and terrible
from the stars, from the sky,
They came!”

They flew past the crematorium,
shot upwards into yellow
and in question,
all of this with bated breath
the doctor watched
with the greenish fire
of his yet unconscious identity.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. eddeaddad permalink*
    June 5, 2010 10:55 pm

    That’s right. You got it going on. You using mchain, right? I never used mchain before; from the screen captures, it looks like you generate a chunk of text, paste it into a word processor, then start moving things around, right?

    • Matthew permalink
      June 7, 2010 10:05 am

      Haha thanks. And yeah, I almost always use Mchain because a) I started using it before I started using Gnoetry, and b) I only have Linux running very infrequently and therefore haven’t really had the time to become as familiar with Gnoetry. I wish I did, because it’s fun to work with, but I’m content with Mchain for now.

      That’s the gist of the process, for me, though specifically, I tend to generate smaller chunks (say, 250-500 words at a time) and just read/scan through the output a few times, letting my brain & ear settle on phrases here and there. Occasionally the result is something that forms in my mind and almost makes sense, which is when I start cutting & pasting, filling in gaps, rearranging, etc.

      The style of collaboration is very different from that using Gnoetry, to be sure, and it’s the one with which I’m more familiar and comfortable at this point. Plus, it’s just a lot of fun for me, so in the limited time I usually have for this kind of thing, I’ll be sticking with Mchain for a while, I think.

  2. eddeaddad permalink*
    June 8, 2010 2:28 am

    That’s cool man. I’ve been thinking about it, I gotta write a post on it.

Leave a Reply

