Skip to content

Lost Threat Division

June 18, 2010

What can we do? This is the
room, the time belongs to you, seeing
me this time, same time, compete, hoping
for something got nothing to

fear cause I shout it’s gonna fall someday
i’m gonna scream, i’m waiting,
but i’m seeing red you see
there? What now? This is the shows

I don’t know who you hit you
don’t have room to stay a wire fence
where the children played saw the
tears as they fall but I don’t know what now?

 
 

Mar 9 2010. Supervised n-gram-based generation. Source Texts: Minor Threat, Complete Discography; Joy Division, Unknown Pleasures and Closer. Generator: Gnoetry

Holy moley, I’d totally forgotten about this until I found it on a flash drive. Back when I was generating poetry from music lyrics on ePoGeeS (ecce! ecce! ecce! ecce!) I did the same with Gnoetry, to compare the experience. Unfortunately I don’t remember much about the experience, or I’d tell ya. However, the poem turned out interesting; a mix of the anger of Minor Threat with the moodiness of Joy Division. iight, later!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric Elshtain permalink
    June 18, 2010 5:20 pm

    I really love these 80s band based poems–is this one a nonce syllabic? Constrained b/t 7-10 syllables?

    • eddeaddad permalink*
      June 20, 2010 2:43 am

      Don’t remember. I think it was syllabic.

Leave a Reply

