Skip to content

the people in the sunshine

July 30, 2010

somewhere the shutter said somewhere one
and a seaman but he was
departed a terrible tail something ominous in english ships
upon the savagery
the prehistoric earth
but it was very bad

a swamp of silver
the forest on the torch
the fire up
with a mere wealth

engaged in the water
then you know you know there the people in the sunshine
empire and brutal instincts

make money of the gift of the opportunity
utter savagery had ever know the gifted creature

often a beautiful resignation
I belonged still less than the company had wanted
sunlight under my word

 
 

July 29-30, supervised generation from bigrams, text: Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, generator: ePoGeeS

you know, I was thinking of something to write and then I remembered one of the first gnoetry poems I read was Scovel’s take on Heart of Darkness. I think Heart of Darkness was a good book. I read it a while back but I don’t remember much about it. I don’t remember much about Scovel’s take, I oughta re-read it. Anyways, the text above seems kind of angry, though maybe I just did that subconsciously. I didn’t think much about it while I was doing it. I just generated a bunch of lines, picked out parts that sounded good, rearranged them and added line breaks. sounds somewhere south of Ouliopo and east of Surrealist lol. anyways I was listening to funkadelic while I did it.

lol later

One Comment leave one →
  1. eRoGK7 permalink*
    July 30, 2010 3:37 pm

    Ah, Conrad! I really loved that Steinian line “then you know you know there the people in the sunshine.”

Leave a Reply

