Skip to content

that confounded smoke

August 1, 2010

A long decaying building on the deck.
The earth, the station. And the whisper of
a big concern, a cry, the water, and
the same profession, satisfied the two

were standing on the bank against the stream.
The pilgrims stare! The chaos I, perhaps.
A kernel but the snags were thick, the whole,
towards the reach between the trees. The dusk.

The conquest of the clearing by the wind.
A long decaying building on the men
in which the dark. The night. The sun. A haze,
in that confounded smoke, a little while.

Sun Aug 1 2010, Text: Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness, generator: Gnoetry

ok, so I tried out Gnoetry doing the same thing I was doing with epogees.

With epogees I generally

  1. generate a bunch of lines
  2. pick out the best phrases (at least 3 words long, usually  more)
  3. put the phrases in some order
  4. go back to 1 until finished

for at least 4 iterations, usually more.  if I’m trying to develop something with a narrative it usually takes at least 3 iterations to get the outline of the story.  In particular, the first iteration does not look very poem-like, as each line is the same length (usually the max), there is no enjambment or other coherence between lines, and the lines frequently end in prepositions or connectives or something else to make them look half-formed.

with Gnoetry, on the first draft you have something that more immediately has the surface characteristics of a poem.  this suggests an inverse relationship between effort of gnoet and the effort of the reader in terms of the construction of meaning.  so: if the gnoet selects the first draft, the reader will generally have to put more effort into finding meaning or coherence or some other worthwhile value in the poem.  if the gnoet puts more effort into selecting words and regenerating, then the reader will need less effort.

dunno what my point is. Just sayin. with me it’s all about love.

-e.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matthew permalink
    August 1, 2010 9:55 pm

    “this suggests an inverse relationship between effort of gnoet and the effort of the reader in terms of the construction of meaning.”

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who sees it that way. Perhaps it has been discussed by others before, and I missed it, but I think that sums up nicely my thinking thus far about the relationship between & responsibilities of the gnoet and the reader.

    Good stuff, man. You are just cranking it out.

    • eddeaddad permalink*
      August 2, 2010 3:06 am

      now that I think about it I feel kinda bad for posting the poem above, ’cause I feel like I wasn’t really giving gnoetry a fair shake. truth is, The Family went to run an errand so I had a chance to boot the kitchen computer into linux and run gnoetry but I only had a limited amount of time to produce a gnoem before they got back lol.

      > Good stuff, man. You are just cranking it out.

      thanx d00d I appreciate the encouragement from all y’all.

Leave a Reply

