Skip to content

meta: request anonymous text swap

August 9, 2010

I’ve been thinking recently about the extent to which a comp-poet’s knowledge of the source text affects the theme of the final poem. For example: if I know that the text is “Heart of Darkness”, will that make me more likely (consciously or unconsciously) to produce poems with themes related to colonialism; if I know that the text is “Faust”, will the the themes be related to hubris, etc.

So I’d like to work with some text whose identity is unknown to me. So I propose the following:

  1. you send me a file of some text without specifying what it is, and I do the same for you
  2. we use the poetry authoring tools of our choice to generate poems
  3. we post the results here

I suggest that the text have the following characteristics:

  • preferrably 1-3 texts rather than a larger set of unrelated texts.
  • no identifying information in the text’s filename
  • no weird non-ASCII characters (i.e. no “smart” quotes, etc.) if possible

anyway, if you’re interested, either email me or reply here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eRoGK7 permalink*
    August 10, 2010 9:13 am

    Great idea! I’d love to do the swap. I’ll e-mail you a source text today or tomorrow and we can start the experiment.

    • eddeaddad permalink*
      August 11, 2010 3:03 am

      YAY! I knew you’d come through, eRoGK7.

      anyone else wanna swap anonymous texts? it’s fun! and easy!

Leave a Reply

