Skip to content

outward deception

October 17, 2010

Put your dreams. The good, they should away.
This is good. And made is could.
Should eat wherefore. Thy voice. That my heart.
Surely this good, art that are full.

Just a poor, and good, that were in you we.
I should rejoice, in due care. Few anymore.
Outward deception, used to prove thee to.
Through to you grew, do you wish.

Yet is a room, you through to prove to.
To move metallic blue, to move turned on.
These things, you do through to you, do it.
Used to prove, who’s wrong, to fit.

God for god; is for… thy heart.
We suffered, and folly; I was far, and war.

 
 

October 15, 17, 2010 selected couplets generated from stochastic beam search with phoneme evaluation from a word bigram model, words per line rearranged for optimal TTS. Language Model Texts: Joy Division, lyrics from Unknown Pleasures and Closer; King James Bible Ecclesiastes. Generator: ePoGeeS.

Loop: Iron Maiden, Wrathchild; Skatalites, Guns of Navarone. Made with: Cepstral, Audacity.

Man, I dig that youtube URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUuNXH00CRk. All I want in life are puNX H00kRz!!!!

anyway, it started with that beat from Wrathchild, which is kind of funky and the Skatalites sample seemed like a good fit. Then I tried to think of some source texts that would match the mood of the loop and that could be read with that particular TTS voice. Then I wrote this poem using method 8deb34d2-eaf7-40bc-bc8a-333712ac0ab3 (sonnet-ish from flowing through vowels):

Put your dreams away the good, they should.
And this is good is made could.
Wherefore should eat thy voice that my heart.
Surely this good that are full art.

Just a poor and good that we were in you.
I should rejoice in due care anymore few.
Used outward deception to prove thee to.
Through to you do you wish grew.

Yet is a room to you through to prove.
Metallic blue turned on to move to move.
These things, through to you do you do it.
Used to prove who’s wrong to fit.

God for god is thy heart; for.
We suffered and folly I was far and war.

October 15, selected pairs from stochastic beam search with phoneme evaluation from a word bigram model. Language Model Texts: Joy Division, lyrics from Unknown Pleasures and Closer; King James Bible Ecclesiastes.

and then I made a video:

Loop: Iron Maiden Wrathchild, Skatalites Guns of Navarone, made with Audacity and Cepstral.

but it was pretty bad. I did some word-based TTS quality judgments, range is from 1 (bad) to 5 (good):

 4   3     2     2    3   2      2    1
Put your dreams away the good, they should. 

 4   5   4   3   3   3    3
And this is good is made could. 

   3        3    3    4    3    2   3    3
Wherefore should eat thy voice that my heart.

  3     4    2    3   3    3   2
Surely this good that are full art.

 4   4  3    4   3    3   3  3    2   2
Just a poor and good that we were in you.

4   4      4     3   3   3     3      2
I should rejoice in due care anymore few.

 3     4         4     4    4    4   3
Used outward deception to prove thee to. 

   4    2   2  2   2   3    4
Through to you do you wish grew. 

 4  4  4  4   4   4    3      4   4
Yet is a room to you through to prove.

   3       4    4    4   1  1   1   1
Metallic blue turned on to move to move.  

   3    3       4      1  1   1  1  1  2
These things, through to you do you do it. 

  4  4    5    2     2    3   3
Used to prove who's wrong to fit.

 4   4   3  4   3   3      3
God for god is thy heart; for.

 4   4       3   3    3  2   2   3   3
We suffered and folly I was far and war.

and I figured I couldn’t unleash that on the front page of Gnoetry Daily. So I thought: I should take each line, and add punctuation, and rearrange the words, until it sounded better. So that’s method 6d025542-c970-480c-867c-08be67e38419 (sonnetish-flow through vowel sequences with per-line rearrangements for TTS). It kills coherence, but it keeps assonance.

Listen, Doc, I’m kinda worried about getting into this multimedia thing. I mean, is adding music just some kind of novelty? Does it really add anything to it as poetry? Then I remembered something I looked up on youtube a while back after my old lady started spewing Middle English one day. I guess my phonemic generated/TTS/sound-loop poems are in this tradition:

Grendel gonga! UH! MAIDEN!! MAIDEN!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

