Skip to content

Diastic Reading My Email

January 6, 2011
by

So I guess I’ll take Thursday, yes?

I suppose you already know I’m likely to be the least consistent with fulfilling this Gnoetry Weekly Pledge (life with 3 daughters and a nephew in tow is not a predictable thing), but I’ll do my best. Too, I am hoping it will help me get & keep my mind in a more poetic place, because I have noticed of late an uncertainty in my thinking towards poetry & Gnoetry. The effect on my output has been limiting in both frequency and with regard to my sense of purpose. Really, that’s all just  a long-winded way of saying I hope doing this more regularly will help me get better at it (or at least define “better” a bit more clearly for myself).

(Wish I knew squat about programming, too, because it really seems like that’d make this all even more fun. Anybody care to point me in a direction on that front?)

Anyway, on with the words. Used Diastic Reading again, which seems comically simplistic next to JanusNode and Gnoetry and such, but I think I’m OK with that. I often find myself wanting to use this programmatic stuff to mess around with my personal documents, and email is one that particularly appeals to me that way. What follows, then, is simply the output from 3 different emails (the senders being the respective titles), using either “Matthew” or “Matt” as the reading key. The only editing on my part was truncating and adding a period at the ends.

Enjoy!

Marcy.H

Matt,
have watched Past,
like was life.
puffy,
temperatures winter.
thought Saturday My have
with state long same
life.

::

Emily.M

must Maggie’s but heat,
My Parma getting september more Parma getting
september more Parma getting september more Parma
getting september more Parma getting september more
Parma getting september more Parma getting september
more Parma getting september more Parma getting
september more Parma getting september more Parma
getting september more Parma.

::

Kristin.C

minor Bach bit.
diet alcohol,
people,
safflower mainly Each
not that which
interesting sunflower meal
sale.
get anything,
-spaghetti spaghetti safflower
mainly Each not
that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. eddeaddad permalink*
    January 7, 2011 12:42 pm

    > (Wish I knew squat about programming, too, because it really
    > seems like that’d make this all even more fun. Anybody care
    > to point me in a direction on that front?)

    try Javascript! all you need is a text editor and a web browser. Check this out:
    http://www.w3schools.com/js/default.asp
    once you learn document.write, while loops, if…else conditionals, and Math.random you should have enough to write simple poetry generators.

Leave a Reply

