Skip to content

SciFi Gnoetry | .9 (N+7+Azathoth)

February 3, 2011
by

Ok, so I have dropped the ball a couple times, now. Knew it would happen. Frankly, I don’t even know that I want to post this today, because I don’t have access to our usual computer. This is both good and bad. Good, because the computer I’m using is a Cr-48 (one of these), which is loads of fun. It is bad because I can’t save anything to this computer, which means no programs, and I can’t use Java, which means no eGnoetry or ePoGeeS. And since that Diastic Reading web implementation doesn’t seem to be working, I decided to hit up the always amusing N+7 Generator. I used Lovecraft’s Azathoth as the source and just picked phrases from different iterations, as they appealed to me. Nothing groundbreaking, obviously, but it’s something I enjoyed doing, and it’s Thursday, so here it is.

(I hesitated to group this with the other SciFi Gnoetry I’ve been working on, because of the obvious systemic differences, but it IS fairly connected in my mind, so far as the narrative is concerned, so .9 it is)


.9 The Wooers

…and went out,
the minimums of manes
when grindstone clamps reared to smoky slanders,
tall tracks, grim and ugly
in whose shampoo none might drift.
Of the sunrise, of Spring’s flute,
of the narrative, of the mane
but little is written
for They were of the waking wrapping only.

One nincompoop,
a militiaman gunsmith, was bridged.
The lonely Watcher
glided regretfully out of silence,
airlock to rostrum.
A partnership was made.

They came,
Wooers with shovelfuls of loyalist blue.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric Elshtain permalink
    February 3, 2011 4:39 pm

    The music in this is sublime, I tell you.

    • Matthew permalink
      February 4, 2011 9:36 am

      Thanks — the amazing source material didn’t hurt much, though! Azathoth has been a favorite of mine since I first read it. (And maybe I’m also getting a bit more comfortable with using Lovecraft sources, too?)

  2. February 5, 2011 4:52 am

    The word “nincompoop” is a little distracting, but the rest of it is solid. N+7 is interesting, good to see it here.

Leave a Reply

