Skip to content

delusion

July 12, 2011
this delusion in him die

 hell itself detaches 
             spreads 
     and the dances
thy presence imprisoned 
             in the high and heaven

the god within this 
               the great
        within my wish 
                       is my life disquieting

one when one 
             then the dainty spirits 
     and died
left the dead 
let  thy
                   margaret see a speedy death 
                                a visitor
the bliss that the assistance 
    brides die

 

July 11, 2011, bigram output from Goethe’s Faust (trans. Bayard Taylor), generator: ePoGeeS, selected for lexical chains from Biggie Small’s “Suicidal Thoughts”, and manually formatted.

I wanted to work a bit more with lexical chains as I had before. Previously I’d used the lexical chain words in WpN templates; this time I just generated a large number of lines in ePoGeeS and then selected those lines that contained the words in the lexical chain. about halfway through I had to look for words that rhymed appropriately (i.e. I generated lines whose last word rhymed with “lie” to get a line with “die” since it was taking a long time to generate a word like that randomly.) If I was going to pursue this, I’d write this sort of thing into the code, but I didn’t feel like coding at the moment. Anyway, the lexical chain I used was:

die 
hell
heaven
God
life
died
dead
death
die

This was slightly modified from the chain I used earlier, to remove lexical items that on second thought I didn’t think were really related; also, I had to remove “suicide’s” and “funeral”, since they weren’t in Faust, and “paradise” since it wasn’t in the phoneme model.

So I generated the lines, then I cut out words from the beginning and end, and re-arranged it manually by whim. fwiw, here are the original lines I generated:

the like this delusion in him die
hell itself detaches spreads and the dances
thy presence imprisoned in the high and heaven
the god within this the great we’ll
within my wish is my life disquieting
one when one then the dainty spirits and died
whereby the left the dead let thy
margaret see a speedy death a visitor
the bliss that the assistance brides die

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

