Skip to content

fragments from James chapter 6

July 21, 2011
by

I have no idea if I’ve mentioned this here before, but I attended a small Christian high school, and for religion class senior year, we had to memorize the entire book of James. Needless to say, while I can no longer recite all five chapters, they still stuck with me, you know?

Anyway. It has been a while since I posted here, and I apologize. Enjoy, then, fragments from James chapter 6, or “bear olives, or you face of suffering”

1. What causes fights
sent them singing
songs of praise to our Lord
and mercy and sisters.

7. Be patient,
then,
to God

14a. You lack wisdom

14b. but
you sin and anoint them off
in a mirror

14c. and each person wants evidence that comes
into them.

24b. after desires.

21. Therefore the sick
person is considering
you who speaks
against God?

21b. Get rid of
all
pure; then peace-loving, considered
righteous people, don’t spend
what will be shown to anyone;

29. “Go in peace; keep a tight rein on
the scribes.”


Source text: book of James, NIV
Generator: charNG, 7-gram (high, I know), Markov chaining.
I removed spaces and messed with line breaks some, because I just can’t help myself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 3:38 am

    Good stuff. When I started reading it, I thought it was a cut-up; high-order n-grams have that effect.

    Just out of curiosity, are you at all concerned about Revelation 22:18-19? i.e. “I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this scroll: If anyone adds anything to them, God will add to that person the plagues described in this scroll. And if anyone takes words away from this scroll of prophecy, God will take away from that person any share in the tree of life and in the Holy City, which are described in this scroll.” (NIV) Notice that in this instance, at least, God is less forgiving than Cthulhu…

    • Matthew permalink
      July 25, 2011 11:08 am

      I’ll be honest: occasionally, yes, it does occur to me that I’m being less careful than I should be with scripture. However, I generally like to think that the passage you mention refers more to people who alter the Bible’s content expressly to mislead people or gain unholy profits, that sort of thing. I’m certainly not trying to profit in any real way (because, you know, it’s poetry), so I think I’m clear on that count.

      I’d be more concerned about misleading people, because I suppose it’s possible people could read this kind of thing and think I am trying to convey actual truths. While the Truth may occasionally be reflected in this kind of work, and while I do think that poetry generally, and this kind of poetry specifically, can certainly convey a kind of understanding, I have to hope that people understand I’m not really trying to teach anything concrete. For me, this is largely another way of internalizing the texts in question, becoming familiar with the way they feel, as it were.

      So, yeah, I’ve thought about that from time to time, but I’m banking on God knowing I’m not trying to do anything nefarious and that I only do this kind of thing with Biblical texts because they already means a lot to me for the right reasons.

      (Probably didn’t think you were going to get an answer quite that in-depth, did you?)

  2. July 25, 2011 7:08 pm

    this is largely another way of internalizing the texts in question, becoming familiar with the way they feel

    That sounds right… After all, you’re not trying to replace the book of James, you’re just using it as inspiration. Sort of like how people write hymns based on Bible verses.

    (then again, I’m prolly considered a “heretic”, so don’t trust me!)

Leave a Reply

