Skip to content

Genesis chapter twenty eight

September 1, 2011
by

So I started a project. A big one. You’ll get the idea. Not sure how much of it any of us will want me to post, but I wanted to get something up here so you guys would be aware of it, and what follows is one of my favorite pairs so far. I’m actually most of the way through Genesis at this point, but I’ll probably do a New Testament book next, if only for a change of pace, as it were.

i. [charNG]

I 
am 
to Yahweh stone 
to
        you 
   with all that is. 
        to put under his 
head, and 
  make a wife of 
God 
will 
    I go, and 
where all nightly
     blessed him. clothing and all, take 
a wife 
from the sister 
of the blessed.

ii. [eDiastic]

sun ascending blessed
night
to away the stone
mother

be blessed besides
first
awakened surely
angels

God set families
dreamed
away the night
mother

Source: Genesis 28, WEB
Generators: charNG and eDiastic, obviously
Seed text, for eDiastic: “Genesis chapter twenty eight”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 9:36 pm

    Not sure how much of it any of us will want me to post, but I wanted to get something up here so you guys would be aware of it,

    As much as possible! The jumpy vs static free verse styles make it look like divine revelations vs commentary. Very interesting, are you going to submit it somewhere, or are you thinking chapbook?

    I’ll probably do a New Testament book next

    I vote for Revelation! (symmetry, y’know…)

    • Eric Elshtain permalink
      September 4, 2011 9:48 am

      eddeaddad says: it looks like divine revelations vs commentary–

      Indeed! The different programs make for different forms of exegeses, both revealed (“awakened surely angels”) and rational (“I am to Yahweh stone”).

      Great stuff–can not wait for more.

  2. September 3, 2011 11:48 pm

    Compare to someone posting “random Markov-chain generated snippets” (word n-grams?) from the KJV on twitter: @markov_bible.

    They’re a bit simpler than your mix of character n-grams and diastic readings on specific chapters.

Leave a Reply

