Skip to content

Revelation chapter twenty two

September 9, 2011
by

At edde’s suggestion, I went ahead and started Revelation as the next book in my project. Turns out that was a good idea, because it was so much fun I pounded out the whole thing today.

Here’s the last chapter, just because. I’m working on making a chapbook for each, um, book. I’ll keep you posted.

Revelation chapter twenty two

i. [charNG]

     “Come!” He said 
to 
me, “These who keeps things to me, 
       who 
loves of
words
         is Morning to
the idolaters,
the
 Alpha
and the
Lord. God adds to me These
      who
testify
of water 
in 
things 
which are 
    for
 God and 
the 
bride.”

   I am they,
saying
       “Yes,
I
come.”

ii. [eDiastic]

testify, name prophets
bearing filthy
righteousness

river still proceeding
Christ them away ::
take the book
9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 10:07 pm

    I’m working on making a chapbook for each, um, book. I’ll keep you posted.

    Let me know if you need a hand with the chapbook.

    I enjoy doing pdfs, I put together one of eRoGK7’s 6x6x6 just for fun! (and so I could print it out.)

    • Matthew permalink
      September 12, 2011 4:16 pm

      I’m hoping to put together a very simple something on my own this week, but we’ll see. My life may have other ideas! So yeah, I’ll let you know.

  2. Eric Elshtain permalink
    September 10, 2011 9:46 am

    “Christ them away…” Sing it! And an Amen…

    • Matthew permalink
      September 12, 2011 4:17 pm

      haha thanks. I felt a weird pressure with this particular chapter, and while I wasn’t quite as pleased with it as with some others, I think it’s position dictates I never would be, no matter how many times I tried, so I think I’m just going to leave it alone.

    • Matthew permalink
      September 12, 2011 4:18 pm

      Um, and I’m glad you liked that line; I rather enjoyed it, too.

  3. nathanielksmith permalink
    September 10, 2011 10:46 pm

    still loving the ediastic works. they’re wonderfully succinct but pack a big punch.

    • Matthew permalink
      September 12, 2011 4:20 pm

      thanks, they’re certainly a lot of fun, and a very different kind of challenge than the charNG poems. as others have mentioned, I enjoy how they give the sense of a different voice.

  4. eRoGK7 permalink*
    September 11, 2011 1:25 pm

    I enjoy this work too. This one is reminding me of Ronald Johnson’s Radi os, an erasure of Paradise Lost. It has that same feeling of an apocryphal text which is a rewriting of a religious text, of something new extracted from the old.

    There is a very different feeling to the charNG work and the eDiastic too. A good way to exploit this difference poetically is to work them into the book/chapbook as two distince “voices” or modes in the work, each building up parallel effects the may either echo each other or bring two very different perspectives to the same issues. In these posts you do this with separately number sections, but placing them facing each other on separate pages may provide an even strong effect of spatial comparison.

    Good stuff.

    • Matthew permalink
      September 12, 2011 4:28 pm

      I really like the idea of positioning them on opposite pages; I will definitely have to try that. I’ve thought too of combining them in clumps, stringing together a few chapters of charNG, then a few of eDiastic, not even necessarily grouping them together in parallel. We shall see.

      And I’d never heard of Radi os (I need to read more, obviously), but I’m going to have to look into that. I LOVE Paradise Lost, so it seems like it’d be right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

