Skip to content

with[in] the Bible (chapbooks!)

September 15, 2011
by

I was going to post these to the chapbooks page, but alas, it doesn’t seem like I have the necessary security clearance for that sort of thing.

So. I just made the documents available straight from Google Docs. You can view them as you find them, or you can download them from there as PDFs (which I think looks better anyway).

Enough chitchat, then.

with[in] Genesis : with[in] Revelation

(Oh, and if any of you guys want to put the PDFs on the chapbooks page for me, that’d be ok, too.)


kind of cross-posted on my own blog

9 Comments leave one →
  1. eRoGK7 permalink*
    September 17, 2011 12:36 am

    You know, I think it’s probably alright if everyone has Editor privileges. That way you can edit pages as well as posts and upload any chapbooks to the page here. Too bad I can’t just make pages as wikis (or maybe I can).

    Anyways, you’re an editor now, along with every other member who has posted to the blog. Just make sure you don’t edit or delete anyone else’s posts. I’m sure we can all trust each other with that.

    It’s late, and I’m too tired right now to read your chapbook, but I’m excited to see it going up, and when I get the time, I’ll post some comments about it. There’s a lot of good writing I’ve seen going up here that I haven’t had time to comment on. This blog just keeps getting better all the time.

  2. Eric Elshtain permalink
    September 17, 2011 11:23 am

    Just read the Genesis chapbook–the use of pairs, each a different computational tool, is fantastic (via eRoGK7, right?). I enjoy how the poems ring out certain obsessions of Genesis (sons and brothers, in particular); how this is not so much a counter-narrative or attempt at corrective of the source text, but a distillation of theme, almost a Jungian analysis of the text without any folderol (so many mirror images in the text…)

    Chapter four is very effective in that it suppresses the names of Cain and Abel; the absence is telling and metaphorically resonant. I was also reminded of Johnson’s Radi Os (he erases any mention of God and Satan from the first four books of Paradise Lost). You should check that out for sure!

  3. September 22, 2011 3:29 pm

    I really like the pipeline of writing pieces here, then submitting them to Beard of Bees or elsewhere, or else posting them here as chapbooks. (Maybe the ‘chapbooks’ page should be called ‘collections’… my idea was to collect poems that we’d written in the past but were worth gathering and distributing instead of just being buried.)

    There’s a lot of good writing I’ve seen going up here that I haven’t had time to comment on.

    Yeah, I’m really enjoying the level and amount of discussion we’ve been having here recently.

    Do you think it’d be productive or counter-productive to start providing more workshop-style comments? I try to provide generally constructive feedback: the danger is that it turns negative, as workshops sometimes do; the positive possibility is that it helps us fine-tune our poems before submitting them elsewhere.

  4. Matthew permalink
    September 22, 2011 3:57 pm

    Ok, so you guys talked me into it. I just ordered Radi Os from textbooks.com (sold back some of my own for $6 more than the book cost me, so I’m actually coming out ahead. It’s a good day.

  5. September 22, 2011 5:40 pm

    This is extremely impressive. Its two-foldedness works nicely and the individual poems are great. The style shifts create a back and forth rhythm. Two different systems/methods/processes/productions are sharing the space of this collection. The methods have voice. The diastic voice seems to be noun-heavy and list like, visually dense, while the n-grammed texts are arid, individual lines are interdependent, and meanings are spread across several lines. In order to read the eDiastic texts, you have to break the individual elements into pieces, with the nGrams, you have to push them together. There’s a lot of interesting stuff happening here. I like it. I’m going to read Genesis later.

  6. October 20, 2011 3:40 am

    yo Matthew, I added pdfs (rendered from Google Docs) to the “Chapbooks” page, just so they don’t get forgotten.

    you oughta post some of your favorite verses every once in a while, it’s good stuff.

    • Matthew permalink
      October 20, 2011 10:15 am

      hey, thanks man. I know I’ve been kind of absent here lately. I’ve been following the discussions, which have been awesome (if somewhat over my head), but I’m still trying to figure out how this fits into my schedule now that the school year is in full swing. between helping our oldest (kindergarten) with homework and shuttling our middle to and from preschool three days a week, teaching piano lessons on Tuesdays, and the impending addition of babysitting my new nephew a few days a week, this blog hasn’t been the only thing I’ve been neglecting!

      But. This project has remained on my mind, though. I’m finally getting around to starting up again, this time with Exodus (and the rest of the Pentateuch). I’m still debating internally whether or not I want to change things up or simply continue with the same format. I like the idea of “publishing” the books in groups, so the rest of the Pentateuch makes sense to me, seeing as I’ve got the first one done already.

      I’m still reading and rereading Radi os, too, which also kind of makes me want to play with Paradise lost…

      Point is, this stuff is always on my mind, and yeah, I should probably make myself put some stuff up here a bit more often, even if it’s just a little bit on Thursdays. Speaking of which, apparently it’s Thursday, so who knows? Maybe I can get something up later today.

      Thanks again for putting those two up on the chapbooks page, though. I kept meaning to do that, so I’m glad someone else was able to muster a bit more initiative than I did!

  7. October 21, 2011 3:08 am

    You’re a superman, Matthew; I thought I was the bomb just cause I did the dishes!

    Anyway, consider using WordPress to “schedule” a couple week’s worth of your favorite poems from with[in] Genesis and Revelation, and link to the Chapbooks page… (click “edit” next to “Publish immediately”…) That way casual visitors will discover the Good News about your Biblical remixes.

    • Matthew permalink
      October 21, 2011 11:00 am

      Yeah, I might just have to do some scheduling. It’s still only 11 in the morning here, and I’ve already finished most of the cleaning and laundry and such that I wanted to for the day, so I think this afternoon I might go through those two chapbooks and pick out a few to post with the link to the chapbooks–that’s a good idea.

      I might have to impinge a tad on whoever has Friday in addition to scheduling one or two out. And I’m making decent headway on Exodus, so if I’m feeling ambitious, it shouldn’t be too hard to bang out the rest of that book today and schedule some for that, too.

      Anyway, thanks for the encouragement. With any luck, I’ll find my way back into a schedule that leaves a tad more room for my favorite poetic pastime!

Leave a Reply

