Skip to content

death compassed (come clean remix)

October 4, 2011

Audio: Sep 28, 2011, video reading created with Cepstral TTS and Audacity, using DJ Premier’s “Come Clean” beat.

Text: death compassed: July 31, 2011, Method 155abe85-6ad8-4f99-b429-716d21610a6b (expanding a seed text consistent with a language model.) Seed text from “Everyday Struggle” by Biggie Smalls; expansion corpus: St John of the Cross “Dark Night of the Soul” (Proj. Gutenberg translation); generator: ePoGeeS.

I hadn’t done a TTS video in a while, mostly because the workstation died that I had a video capture program on. So in this case I just put it together with Audacity and used some braindead microsoft program to make a video with a static image. I guess it was a good thing, it let me focus a bit more on timing the utterances. The beat is by DJ Premier, most famously from Jeru the Damaja’s “Come Clean“. Only top human rappers can hold their own to Premier’s beats, so I don’t feel too bad for my computer-generated version in this case.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 4:54 pm

    that worked out really well, actually sounded like the SAPI voice knew what it was doing.. is that a markup language for the TTS?

  2. October 4, 2011 7:42 pm

    is that a markup language for the TTS?

    Yeah, it’s SSML, I think it’s processed by the Cepstral engine before it gets to SAPI. I also messed around with punctuation, and it helped that the poem is made of short phrases. Here’s the file if you wanna take a look. I had to do tricks like misspell “virtou” and “commpast”, and generated “front door” twice with different punctuation and merged the audio manually because it slurred for some reason. Then I edited the utterance timings when I added them to the Audacity file. (I realised when I was done that I’d lost a line by mistake!) In my other videos I didn’t put so much effort into the prosody, it definitely shows.

  3. eRoGK7 permalink*
    October 4, 2011 8:27 pm

    Rockin!

    I’m obsessed right now with setting up autotuner software on my computer to see what effect that might have for performing some poetry (I say perform because it will involve more than reading it on top of the music, perhaps even with some singing or other music/noise effects. Might be stupid, might be great. Who knows?

    I’ll let you know if anything comes of that, whenever I get around to doing it. It’s not high on my list right now.

  4. October 5, 2011 4:42 pm

    That’s nice.

    Propellorheads makes a great program called ReCycle that automagically chops up files into little bits for use in sampling software…tragically unfree though.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/REX2

    Makes mean things like this really easy.

    http://houseofsubstance.blogspot.com/2011/02/taking-requests.html

  5. October 5, 2011 10:53 pm

    Substance, that is brilliant:

Leave a Reply

