Skip to content

99% Tankas

October 9, 2011

I have a job, but
I have student loan debt, but
how?  I put myself

through college, student loans.  It
is not enough?  I worked hard.

I graduated
high school, I am not cured, I
am a successful

design firm, I will add my
partner to my health problems.

I am more in debt.
I am lucky enough to
cover my mortgage

and eat cheap packages of
noodles.  I am not enough?

In the last several
years only the big boss has
received a raise.  I

just want to help people get
ahead.  We are the future.

I have no children
and happiness.  I was a
honor student with

a dream to me.  My parents
are in debt because of time.

We are in debt.  My
father alive.  Pay never
even kept up with

leukemia.  I have a
mortgage.  I will never will.

I cannot use those
grants again.  I cant afford
groceries, and have

been to me?  We shop in thrift
stores.  The wounded warrior.

I would gladly pay
higher taxes if it meant
a good system to

help his fellow humans.  I
will never be successful.

The country I grew
up in michigan.  I guess
I was a honor

student with a dream to work
straight out of the shareholders.

I thank you for your
passion.  I want to go home
and build a life with

the man I love.  We will not
be able to find a job.

I share a room with
my mother was diagnosed
with leukemia.

I have to start applying
for a living.  I worked hard.

Texts statistically analysed by Gnoetry0.2:
Transcripts culled from We Are the 99 Percent

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 11:00 am

    not bad for an I-driven poem… ;) … going to install Ubuntu at some point so I can take a look at Gnoetry…

  2. October 13, 2011 4:38 pm

    Yes–it was an interesting experience working with the “I,” which is a strategy I avoid in my own poems, though the *plurality* of the I’s that rumble underneath speaks to a collection of unified ballad-like voices, rather than a single, lyric voice. I wanted the poem to be readable in a human microphone setting, and so the short haiku form.

  3. October 13, 2011 7:55 pm

    Arthur Shopenhauer has this concept of the “collective I” in which (from the perspective of the word itself) – “I” refers to the sum of all those who have uttered the word.. Your poem avails itself to such a reading. I appreciate poly-vocalism. I strive for it in my own work. Perhaps on the level of the book more so than the poem.

  4. October 14, 2011 11:02 pm

    going to install Ubuntu at some point so I can take a look at Gnoetry…

    eRoGK7 had a post elsewhere about putting Ubuntu off a CD and booting your workstation off of it so you could run Gnoetry off of a USB flash drive. Worked for me a while back, though Ubuntu doesn’t support my current laptop’s fan…

Leave a Reply

