Skip to content

[The clerk in rapture. I, in short, observed]

November 6, 2011

The clerk in rapture.  I, in short, observed
the spirit very much.  The ghost.  The hand

in my profession by the rules.  The hand
in my profession by the man.  The hand

in his affairs.  The noise in this.  The hand
in which the ghost, the poor, appalled.  The hand

in my behalf, upon the bank.  The hand
in my employment, and a lustrous belt,

the ghost, the children bade the hands the hand
in which the ghost exulted.  I believe.

Texts analysed by Gnoetry0.2:
Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol
Herman Melville, “Bartleby, The Scrivener:  A Story of Wall-Street”
Many Authors, Ninety-Nine-Percenters

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 6:21 pm

    I like how the repetition of “hand” creates a visual wall on the right hand side of the poem. Also the bracketed title reinforces that sense of closure. Also the poem sounds great, rhythm-wise, and I love the choices of text. Nice one, Eric.

  2. Eric Elshtain permalink
    November 9, 2011 10:54 am

    I hadn’t paid attention to the visual aspect of the repetitions…I now wish that every line ended with a “hand”! One thing I have always enjoyed about using Gnoetry with a relatively small textual corpus–with blank verse in particular–is being allowed to do things with words and phrases I would never do as a merely human poet (unlike a Poe, who never shied away from repeating things, as in “The Bells,” e.g.)

Leave a Reply

