Skip to content

This Purgation (“Nas is Like” remix)

December 13, 2011

remix of This Purgation. Audio volume is a little low, sorry bout that.

Made with Cepstral TTS and Audacity. The music is by DJ Premier, made for the song “Nas is Like“, one of his best-known productions.

This shit is crazy : the day I made this record, I was at my house in Long Island, and I found this old record that I was gonna throw away. It was a ten inch record from a Lutheran church, and it was pink with a black fish on it. [Robert Way – “What Child is This” -ed.] And I was gonna throw it in the garbage, ‘cuz it didn’t look like it had anything hot on it. But somethin’ told me [it was God -ed] “before you throw it away, put it on the turntable, see if you can find something on it”.

And I found that sample of “Nas Is Like”, and I broke it into 3 parts, scratched it live to the drumbeat that I already had, with the little chirpin’ birds [Don Robertson – “Why” -ed.] and from there, “Nas Is Like” was born, man…

DJ Premier

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

