Skip to content

Blues Expectations

January 2, 2012

Sun Jan  1 23:05:55 2012

Judge said to Judge, “If
you come here running, holding
up your hand upon

my life, without a chance.  And
when I walked on wheels, that ride

has come and gone, I
can’t.”  Can’t say I’ve never been
unfaithful to me.

I went to see what
in the night was falling, and
I laid my head in

her, so I went back home, my
shoulders squared and struggling;

which was far more good
than harm, if you can trust me,
she ain’t long in me.

Well, he crawled from the
fireplace sighed, the dread that
some wind had blown her

here asleep, I don’t think I
shall not shed tears of triumph

when I come to life;
and we went in and out, I
mean with injustice.

Texts:
Mississippi Sheiks, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Blind Willie McTell, Blues Lyrics
Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 3:58 am

    There’s almost a profound idea in the first three stanzas, though the second stanza kind of loses it. The rest of the poem picks up on it, except for the phrase about the fireplace.

Leave a Reply

