Skip to content

the beat beneath the summit

January 3, 2012

Then again! Faust! I see: in clasping big
Dangerous self, I am the remembrance,
Long wretchedly astray, the light flame flashes
Blind: so don’t they think of the fleshless dead?

What he calls from their faces, no question,
In my senses, the beat beneath the summit
Cannot be. I cannot falter: draw the
Spot for my enmity. But ah, she’s coming!

 

Jan 2, 2012, Supervised n-gram generation with jGnoetry. Corpora: 80% Goethe Faust (tr. Bayard Taylor), 20% Notorious BIG Ready to Die and Life after Death.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 6:32 pm

    This is tight. Sounds awesome. Great work on jGnoetry, works like a charm.

  2. January 4, 2012 2:48 pm

    This is tight. Sounds awesome. Great work on jGnoetry, works like a charm.

    thx, bro!! I’m a little sick of struggling with the incoherence of n-grams, to be honest… at some point I just gave up and went for good sounds. Maybe it’s just cause jGnoetry uses bigrams; Elshtain just told me that linux-Gnoetry uses trigrams (NOW they tell me… see, this is why at some point you gotta provide technical details on your generator!)

  3. January 4, 2012 3:12 pm

    As of right now, there is only one undocumented command which allows you to call the n-gram data from a template. I love this option. Goes like this.

    #NG[n]

    Where n represents the length of a line. I’m considering major changes to the scripting language which would feature variables and functions, but this needs a major revamping. I have major changes planned. I might restart from scratch.

    But I’ll dox IM before that. Maybe I’ll work a bit on my portion of the paper. I’ve been working on a document that outlines the utility of math theory for the humanities, focusing on projection geometry and chaos theory, because I’ve been corresponding with a recent doctoral student from UB who employed attractors to talk about myth and poetry. I’ve always found the fractal and recursion to be majorly useful, but now that I’m getting into attractors, I can see a lot of what I mentioned about 0-spheres and temporal objects relates to limit cycles and the like, and oh btw, a myth models very snugly as dynamical system. Exciting stuff. I’m going to post it here when I’m finished.

    Also, I want to use floating point vars for “link_strength” such that:

    “This world is made of cheese”

    This-> world = 2
    This-> is = 1
    This-> made = .5

    Could be interesting, dunno. Ima give it go.

  4. January 4, 2012 3:27 pm

    As of right now, there is only one undocumented command

    oh yeah, I wasn’t hating, I meant more like: at some point before quitting further development, one should at least specify what kind of algorithms and parameters were used. Sort of a “lessons learned” so future generations (like me) don’t repeat the same mistakes.

  5. January 4, 2012 11:38 pm

    I hope I didn’t sound defensive. I had no inkling you were hating.

Leave a Reply

