Skip to content

Naturalness, as in a kind abandonment (Stein Poem with jGnoetry)

February 14, 2012
by

I have finally gotten out of my Gnoetry 0.2 box and written a full poem in jGnoetry. I must say, while it was a little different than Gnoetry, I really liked how I was able to get it to work with what I wanted. For the Stein poems, I’ve been using the Re-generate function to set a 16-24 line poem in a free verse form with periods at the end of each line. This takes a lot of time and clicking. While I was initially irritated that I could not set a free verse syllable range like I am able to with Gneotry 0.2, I found that writing a poem in jGnoetry one sentence at a time and varying the syllable length by editing the template periodically worked as well or better for me.

I am very satisfied with how far jGnoetry has come. I also like that I can program my own syllabic form manually as I please. The only addition I would find useful right now would be the ability to set punctuation in the template. That way I could tell the program to output several lines with each line end-stopped with a period.

Keep up the good work edde! I’ll definitely be using jGnoetry to demonstrate digital poetry in my classes from now on instead of having students boot up Linux from a LiveCD and opening Gnoetry 0.2 through the terminal (takes up too much time).

And here’s the Stein Poem I wrote with jGnoetry.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Naturalness, as in a kind abandonment

Tue Feb 14 3:11 PM

Whatever is not artificial.
What will begin again. This time. This finely.
You believe that kind abandonment occurs.
Whatever is ordinarily can.
Someone knowing, praying to be shiny.
I was ceasing, ceasing as if.
Singing, singing, not telling when it is.
Disillusionment in the effect.
It is feeling, not the pacification.
It is feeling, not the exhaustion of such.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
Composed in collaboration with jGnoetry

Source Texts: GERTBOT Source Texts (Gertrude Stein Selections), Nagarjuna’s Mulamadhyamakakarika

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2012 6:54 pm

    This takes a lot of time and clicking.

    Man, I hate too much clicking, that’s what made me sick of my eGnoetry implementation.

    idk if it’s obvious, but you can change the “click to change a word” functionality to the “swipe and wipe” approach of python-on-linux gnoetry. Just click on ‘options’ then in ‘on mouseover’ select ‘changes one way’ – now when the mouse is over a button, it will change to ‘not selected’.

    This new setting takes effect AFTER the next time you re-generate, btw.

    I could not set a free verse syllable range

    hey, that should be pretty trivial to implement… I’ll try and get to it next update.

  2. Matthew permalink
    February 16, 2012 3:39 pm

    This reminds me, I’ve been pretty set on edde’s stuff for a while, so perhaps it’s time I sampled from the Gnoetry 0.2 box again. I am now running linux on our old, old laptop, so Gnoetry 0.2 is a much less inconvenient prospect these days…

    Love this poem, too. The third in is my favorite. Probably.

  3. eRoGK7 permalink*
    February 20, 2012 7:19 pm

    Thanks for the comments. I’ve just begun to get a real idea of the project now after a few months (or has it been more than a year?) working with this material. I believe the Stein Poems have become, at last, the final manifestation of “The Same.” I hope to rework many of the other Stein Poems a bit so that I can fashion a single long poems which may or may not have stanzas. I am thinking of using a page break instead of stanza breaks, but each stanza will be of a varying length according to its own needs.

    My back is all jacked up again, though, and I’m doped up on muscle relaxant. It may be some time before I am able to realize my ideas.

Leave a Reply

