Skip to content

an extraordinary worldwide next generation

February 21, 2012

1.

In their injuries
Blessing every word, beauty
Of our dear repose.

2.

Loving thee behold
The purple in thy soul’s thought
That I think is out.

3.

Those boughs which thou dost common
Grow; resembling strong that every
Thing they are – an extraordinary
Worldwide next generation
Next my love is enough.

 

1 – 2/17/12 composed with jGnoetry on a Kindle
2 – 2/18/12 composed with jGnoetry by an 8-year old test subject
3 – 2/20/12 composed with jGnoetry “free verse” form.
All verses: default language model (80% Shakespeare Sonnets, 10% Tzara, 10% Lessig)

1. Just for kicks I tried out jGnoetry on my old lady’s first-generation Kindle… it was a massive pain in the neck to move between the Generate button and the word buttons (it kept scrolling through the upper frame), but I was gratified to see that it actually worked otherwise.

2. I watched an 8-year-old kid try out jGnoetry on the web, just to make sure the interface was easy to use. I made “click per word” instead of “mouseover” the default because the kid previously had problems with the mouseover version.

3. I implemented random line lengths for eRoGK7. For example you can do a template like

[3-9s] [n]
[3-9s] [n]
[3-9s] [n]
[3-9s] [n]
[3-9s]

which will give you between 3 and 9 syllables per line, inclusive.

Select the “Free Verse” form to see this. The exact number is determined when you generate the first poem.

(You can also do a plain [3s][n] to create 3-syllable lines, btw, if you don’t want to write out [s] [s] [s] [n] manually.)

This doesn’t quite get you to one-sentence-per-line, though; I need to implement some kind of template code for punctuation. (or, to allow punctuation to be placed in with the template codes.) Maybe one of these days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matthew permalink
    February 24, 2012 10:58 am

    This is fantastic. For some reason, I am newly amused by changing the number of syllables per line to make patterns, so knowing I can write [7s] instead of [s] [s] [s] [s] [s] [s] [s] is quite helpful.

    You are on a serious roll, dude.

    (If only my 5 year old were a litter further along in her reading development, I’d have her try this out. Maybe when first grade rolls around…)

  2. eRoGK7 permalink*
    February 25, 2012 12:38 am

    That makes things a lot more versatile. Thanks! When my health/back issues subside, I’ll try out the new nomenclature.

Leave a Reply

