Skip to content

[She list in dignity]

February 28, 2012

She list in dignity since that last reaching
To winter’s frost. Whilst eternal I thus
Compass’d all the trauma, we reach’d the present.
The world I’ve been moving, she’s lost. Wilderness.

 

Feb 28, 2012, interactive bigram generation with jGnoetry. Source texts: 60% Dante Alighieri, The Vision of Hell, Translated By The Rev. H. F. Cary; 40% Joy Division, lyrics.

As I mentioned in comments, I’m more a fan of the “generate and select” approach than I am of gnoetry-style constrained interaction. But I figured I should eat my own dog food and try out jGnoetry a bit.

Note for further thought: when using multiple corpora, it’s currently impossible for jGnoetry to get “stuck” in a certain combination. For example, originally I had the phrase “Whilst eagerly I thus…”, which I didn’t like, but apparently in this corpus the only word that follows “Whilst” is “eagerly,” from Dante. However, the way I have it programmed now, when jGnoetry generates a word, it first selects which corpus to look at, and then selects a word from that corpus. To guide its selection of a word, it looks at what word its generating immediately afterwards, so it may create a bigram. But if there is no bigram in the corpus it’s selected, it just falls back to a unigram, i.e. picks a single word without reference to the word before it. So if I’ve almost finished a poem, and am only trying to replace the word “eagerly”, if I click regenerate 10 times, 6 of those times it will give me “eagerly” from Dante, and the other 4 times it will give me words from Joy Division. Is this the right way to do it? Dunno… it recalls “smoothing” from n-gram modeling. But it highlights how, even with a fairly standardize generation approach, the decisions you make during implementation will affect what you end up with. This is possibly related to the oulipian notion of clinamen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

