Skip to content

Living, as in waiting for an end (Stein Poem)

May 5, 2012
by

They want narrative in writing.
Not detaching from anything or thinking.
This will take a description.
First you think in narrative and this is one.
It is a narrative of what you will think.
These things that you have to say come to stay.
Why. Think before and then you have it already.
Then think of everything I am writing.
Think less in words and less about play I say.
Then think of any difference between these.
And so detach yourselves from it.
It’s nothing. It’s the same thing.
Now let’s write everything.
Perhaps the crime stories of everything.
Think of two things that are exciting.
Adult letter writing words.
Adult letter writing really.
Think of anything while standing very still.
That thing Americans did. Let’s make them do that.
Now think of anything that connects.
What that is.
You cannot.
That makes it poetry.
But narrative is what went on and goes on.
You have to know what went on.
The outside and I came.
We did that together for a century.
That was and I am cutting loose from that.
Now they want the narrative in the present.
This is all very well something this is.
Really soothing. This is happening. Oh why.
So they are not there. And feeling completed.
Then we got tired of it.

========================================
Composed with jGnoetry and the following source texts:
Gertrude Stein, Narration: Four Lectures

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2012 2:55 am

    Killin it, e. Hypnotic, it delivers its payload directly to the subconscious.

    Did you do that one line at a time in jGnoetry? Man, I got to implement punctuation in templates, next chance I get.

  2. eRoGK7 permalink*
    May 9, 2012 4:03 pm

    Yeah, punctuation would be great to have more control over. I do kind of like the one line at a time process, though. I vary the syllable lengths, generate a bunch of lines, paste them into a text editor, and move the lines around or paste lines in between others until I get the poem I’m happy with.

    One big difference I have noticed with jGnoetry when compared with what I do in Gnoetry 0.2 is that jGnoetry will often change words beyond what was highlighted. So if I try to regenerate individual words or a phrase, the program quickly begins adding additional words (and syllables) beyond the highlighted section. This would not be much of a problem, though, if an undo function could be added.

    I have found that I can work with the Stein material more easily in jGnoetry. Gnoetry does maintain the punctuation better, but regenerating lines until all of the lines end in a period is extremely tedious and probably wears my mice buttons down. I can write a Stein poem, if my mind is working properly, in between 30 minutes and 2 hours in jGnoetry, whereas in Gnoetry it would take considerably longer to get everything set up.

    This comment’s getting stupidly long. Adding some punctuation functionality to jGnoetry would certainly be a very good thing.

  3. May 11, 2012 11:53 am

    Thanks for the tips, eRog, I’ve definitely got to work on that some more.

Leave a Reply

