Skip to content

news/updates mid-July

July 14, 2012
  • Yes, it’s that time again… time to prepare for Gnoetry Daily Volume 2!!!! Preferrably for a December release? JYNX said he wanted to edit this go-round… JYNX, you still up for it?!?
  • Our comrades Chris Funkhouser and Andrew Klobucar wrote a paper about Gnoetry Daily for ELO 2012!
  • BREAKING NEWS!!! Dr. Janus is releasing a physical compilation of JanusNode-generated conversation-starters called You can bring an elephant to a Broadway show, but you cannot make it drink Chablis. In his continuing attempts to score enough money to escape from Canada, he’s charging $20.12 (US dollaz, no doubt!) so I haven’t seen it yet, but the preview looks interesting.
  • Sorry I’ve been out of touch recently! Personal tragedy… Interestingly, neither traditional nor experimental poetry is any help at all… I have to resort to Tyler_yj’s “Jihaku” AMV and Nina Simone’s Montreux 1976 performance of “Little Girl Blue“. Oh poetry, poetry, why aren’t you there for me?!?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 12:33 pm

    I LOVE these updates, edde. Keep it up!

    Also, I am flattered by Funkhouser’s and Klobucar’s discussion of our little coterie of digital poetry here and can’t wait to see it’s final form. I am overjoyed to read that they think so highly of FREE GRASS. Truly flattered! Maybe I should actually finish that project sometime, huh?

    And the explanation of gertbot was very interesting too. I have some updates on that part of the Stein Poems project which I need to make, e.g., that gertbot is long dead and the project has had to depart from that hopeful (and naive) origin. It is now solidly a Gnoetry and jGnoetry writing project.

    I should have that post up by tomorrow.

  2. July 18, 2012 12:39 pm

    Oh, and I am also a fan of Nina Simone. I always seek her out when I’m down or things aren’t going well. Music will always be my resort in difficult times, poetry not so much. Music touches the heart much more directly, through both the body and the mind; poetry is first a mental experience for me almost always. I don’t think poetry is always this way or was always this way, but for me, in this time, this is usually the case.

  3. July 19, 2012 11:40 am

    In recognition of your long-time support of JanusNode, Mr. Addad, Janus would like to offer you a free copy of its new book, ‘You can bring an elephant to a Broadway show, but you cannot make it drink Chablis.’ Just send in your mailing address to claim your amazing free prize.

    Janus

  4. July 24, 2012 1:26 am

    In recognition of your long-time support of JanusNode, Mr. Addad, Janus would like to offer you a free copy of its new book

    Thanks, Prof. Janus! But that’s OK, I’m hoping to buy it Real Soon Now, soon as I hook myself up with a job.

    poetry is first a mental experience

    I don’t think poetry is always this way or was always this way, but for me, in this time, this is usually the case.

    I’m hearin’ ya, eRoGK7. But I ain’t gonna forget that which wasn’t there for me, you know? I got zero sympathy for folks who complain about how nobody reads poetry any more.

Leave a Reply

