Skip to content

Free Grass

July 30, 2012
by

I am solid and
beautiful. The camera
and plate are nothing!

*

Text is straightforward.
I’m less sure about the scope
of uncertainty.

*

Tenderly will I
use the “read aloud” button
to hear the pirates.

*

Either way, I am
an old salt with sound, and that
doesn’t mean you much.

*

His brain is coming!
It is time to behold the
unforeseeable!

*

I am jetting the
stuff that is enough. Just as
much as a man should.

*

We have not always
been. But there is a suck and
a gaggle of you.

*

I read of the sound
of grass being stepped on as
an academic.

*

I, too, am ten times
higher than what radio
stations pay to you.

*

Rise after rise bow
the phantoms behind me there.
They might be vacuums.

*

Here is beautiful,
every note of their own
live bodies can fly.

=========================

Composed in collaboration with Gnoetry 0.2 and these texts:

Lawrence Lessig, Free Culture

Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nathanielksmith permalink
    July 31, 2012 1:32 pm

    these are wonderful.

  2. August 1, 2012 12:53 am

    Everybody loves Free Grass!

    I feel a little distracted by the fact that they’re in haiku form, though. They’re brilliant as aphorisms, but I gotta admit, I think they lose a little by being presented as haiku… they don’t really seem haiku-like, and I don’t see a productive juxtaposition with the haiku “feel.” (Especially compared to your Stein poems, which seem to have found the right form.)

Leave a Reply

