Skip to content

In my Certitude, as in this must be the place (Stein Poem)

February 22, 2013
by

Oh yes. What is beyond doubt.
She knows she says.
This thing I have is burning.
And that is called living.
I feel we might be if I could only say how.
She says no one is there.
I should trust my eyes.
But they cannot imagine it.
They cannot see otherwise.
This thing I have is not enough.
She says no one needs it.
This thing we have is nonsense.
Any one can say so.
Any one of them can tell.
They say they get meaning from this.
And they have come to that conclusion.
And this is what they are going to do.
This is the plan.
She never had one she says.
This thing we have is worthless.
This is called the difference.
She wants to know the way.
I say I do not feel it.
It is like it was in June she says.
I say yes this must be the place.

__________________________________
Composed with Gnoetry 0.2 and the following source texts:
Gertrude Stein, The Stanzas in Meditation (Corrected)
Ludwig Wittgenstein, On Certainty

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

