Skip to content

Certainly, as in pansies would be better (Stein Poem)

May 3, 2013
by

NOTE: This poem is the Gnoetry 0.2 compliment to yesterday’s “Certainly, as in absolutely groundless,” which was composed in jGnoetry. I am still amazed at the difference in what comes out of each program when using the same source texts. Much of this is certainly the different interfaces and how I shape my interactions with them as I write. Part of it is my change in mood between the times of composition.

================================================

I wish to add feeling to feeling the same.
I say to them what it is to be a robin.
As if a fire is sleepy and thinking out loud.
You may certainly question it but it’s still a volcano.
I may be mistaken about this.
I think that would be to misunderstand pansies.
Anyone who says, “I know that,” I do do to.
Can anyone say instead of animals, “That is a violet,” etc.
Admittedly one can say in any way off.
Otherwise it would be so dull with languages.
Suppose how you feel how often in any way off.
Does anyone knowing how know how alike, how does a violet, etc.
I believe that I have been come from there where.
Otherwise it would be neither as there as where there.
He took the roses and the sky blue all the same.
The beauty of certainties. And what about pansies.
Suppose I add to show you the opposite.
How do you know if my efforts tell us the future.
Not because it is dead and will be.
It’s more that one needs like it’s impossible.
It feels just like I am as wrong now as pansies, etc.
I can’t give you reasons to ask questions, you need to find them.
I often feel better when I decide something.
If I do not add to it will they not exist.
It’s not what they mean, I must not think it oh no oh no.
They may be mistaken about it too.
Suppose I add to show that I trust and love them.
I often think how I care for them.
I can’t see how it was ever in doubt about pansies.

================================================

Composed in collaboration with Gnoetry 0.2 and the following source texts:
Gertrude Stein, Stanzas in Meditation (the corrected edition)
Ludwig Wittgenstein, On Certainty

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

