Skip to content

beside secrets

July 7, 2013

I was moving beside secrets like a pleasure
We knew strangers through the silence of childhood
I’ll forget the frequent knife past without motion
I set knowledge through a portrait without pain

 
 

7/6/2013 Method a3e1a794-a1cf-42da-b6ed-276d45c554e6 (revising line by parts). Corpus: lyrics to Joy Division’s “Unknown Pleasures”; seed text: “I was moving through the silence without motion” (from Joy Division, Shadowplay). Generator: WpN

I was stuck on a plane cross-country with a netbook with nothing on it but most the JavaScript generators I’d written, so I figured I’d come up with a new generation method.

The key to this one is to take a line of text, and generate from it one third at a time. So I took the seed line “I was moving through the silence without motion” from Joy Division.

For the first line of the poem, I kept the words “I was moving” and generated the rest of the line.
step1

For the second line of the poem, I kept the words “through the silence” and generated words before and after it.

step2

For the third line of the poem, I kept the words “without motion” and generated words before it.

step3

For the fourth line of the poem, I kept only the “closed class” words (I, through, without) (for some reason “the” was skipped?!?) and generated the rest of the words.

step4

What this boils down to is template-filling constraint-based generation (since the words are from a given corpus; in this case Joy Division lyrics). In this instance, I used WpN and selected the words hitting “randomize” for suggestions, though in principle you could do this with any generator.

Method a3e1a794-a1cf-42da-b6ed-276d45c554e6 (revising line by parts)

Step 1: select a corpus, generator, and seed line

Step 2: break the seed line into n partial lines

Step 3: use each of the n partial lines to generate a new full line

Step 4: for the final line, remove all words from the seed line except for closed-class words (determiners, prepositions, etc.) and generate from that

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

