Skip to content

Ecclesiastes chapter twelve

November 14, 2013
by

It is low
for the keepers of height
when the stars draw near,
when your Creator goes
to his pleasure

in the everlasting.
Men are tremblies.
The Preacher says,
“have no end
given from them.

They are like goads
set in this evil.
Before the days of rain
these commandments are the duty of truth.”


With other projects going at the same time, I found myself in late summer & in need of a quick victory, as it were. The Psalms and Job are still in the works, but Ecclesiastes was just what I needed. Here’s a link to the whole book (12 chapters), for those interested.

Unrelated: I don’t find myself giving quite as much thought to proper blogs as I once did, hence my absence here. Far be it from me to suggest anything as drastic as a wholesale move, but I’m kicking around the idea of starting a Google+ Community for Gnoetry Daily. I know at least a couple of you are there(ish), and without getting too Google-evangelist-guy about it, I think it could be cool as a supplement to this space. (In my head, I’m tossing around categories like “resources”, “examples”, etc.) Yea? Nay? Thoughts?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2013 3:28 pm

    I like the Ecclesiates book. I think “whatevertheless” is my word of the year, and chapter 11 works really well on its own, especially with it ending on “the dawn of vanity” (great phrase).

    Regarding the Google+ idea, I’m willing to give it a go. I think as a blog we have done a good job exploring group blog publication and community as a viable alternative (and supplement) to publshing in journals and the print world. Maybe a Google+ group would add to the community aspect. I’m on Google+, but I’m very ishish, i.e. I never check it. But if I felt I was contributing something to the Web like I do on the blog, I would probably be on it more.

  2. December 2, 2013 8:16 am

    Be there in a heartbeat. Please advise.

  3. December 18, 2013 9:48 pm

    So I went ahead and did this. Not sure what exactly it’ll look like, but it’s there. I’ll make a fresh post about this, too, but I wanted to add it in the comments here first.

    https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/106689593910390726301

Leave a Reply

