Skip to content

5 Stein poems + writing process note + gnoetry video slideshow @ opon

March 4, 2013
by

The first issue of opon has just gone up. It focuses on poetry and the writing process. Six poets are featured in this issue, including myself. This is the most detailed process note I’ve written about working with Gnoetry so far, and I discuss what else goes into this current Gertrude Stein project. I also made a video slideshow from screenshots I took while working in Gnoetry on the featured poem.

Check it out. Everything in the issue is interesting, and it shows a wide range of writing practices.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2013 12:24 am

    This is the most detailed process note I’ve written about working with Gnoetry so far

    Fascinating stuff, just came across it. Especially interesting are your notes on process.

    And it is the relationship between the text and the sense I have of my being and living in the world that gives it shape, life and truth.

    I didn’t like the term “mysterious” that you used earlier in the essay. In fact, here is a fairly precise definition of the type of intuitive thought you use. Doesn’t sound too mysterious.

    I should note too that I have read from all of the texts I use as sources; otherwise, literacy would be lacking from the wreading process.

    Yeah, when I generate from texts I’m familiar with, it’s definitely different from when I generate from texts I’m not familiar with. I think a lot of people are easily impressed with writers like Da Bard because of their “writerly” language they use, but once you generate a bunch of nonsense from it and try to pick out good stuff, you really appreciate the skill they had in manipulating that language.

    With jGnoetry, I simply generate one line at a time of varying syllable counts. I then cut and paste the lines into a plain text editor and sculpt the poem as I go.

    I forget if I mentioned this, but you can also paste a line of text into the “templates” textarea and regenerate from that. There’s a bit of a tokenization bug, though; you have to manually add a space before commas and periods…

    The poems written with jGnoetry tend to be lighter, stranger, and less sombre.

    I wonder if that’s also because jGnoetry is using bigrams, while Python Gnoetry is using trigrams. i.e. jGnoetry uses less context (only the previous word, as opposed to the previous 2 words as in Python Gnoetry) when generating a new word, so jGnoetry is more apt to produce nonsense.

  2. July 2, 2013 4:40 pm

    Glad you liked it eddeaddad! Your notes about jGnoetry are enlightening too. First, I wasn’t aware that gnoetry 0.2 operated with trigrams vs. jGnoetry using bigrams. Having used mchain, I am very familiar with how different the output between chains of key length 2 and 3. I’ll try specifying text in the templates area too.

    I still like my use of “mysterious,” although I may not be talking about it very well. There is always something mysterious for me about poetry, art and writing, but I think this is based in a deep uncertainty about the source of aesthetic sense and judgment. Why do I like this more than that? What is it that excites me or moves me? While I trust my intuition (mostly), I don’t think I understand it. Also, while my “sense of being and living in the world” does guide me, this, again, is a strange thing that I do not really understand.

    Or maybe I need to think about this more. Maybe in a year or two I’ll be able to articulate myself better.

Leave a Reply

