Skip to content

Sketch: presenting… eGnoetry!

September 27, 2010

eGnoetry!!!! it’s hip! it’s happening! all the cool kids dig it!

what is “e”Gnoetry?

  • e is for… EASY! a subset/variant of Gnoetry tailored to “drive-by” authoring!
  • e is for… EFFORTLESS! all you need is a Java-enabled web browser to try it!
  • e is for… EXTENSIBLE! includes commented Processing source code, so you can add and remove the features you want!
  • e is for… EDDEADDAD! ’cause I’m all about love.

what are you waiting for??? cybersurf on over to http://www.eddeaddad.net/eGnoetry/ and give it a try!!1!!

More resource development practice!!! You know, it’s been almost a year since I first started doing my own computer-generated poetry. Just a year! Sometimes around here I feel like some kind of puppy, bouncing around and yapping and peeing on the carpet. But I didn’t know I wasn’t supposed to pee on the carpet! I hate dogs anyways, cats are so much cooler… uh… But anyways, the past year and a half of my personal life has really sucked for me, and about the only thing in my life that has brought me joy is interactive computer poetry generation. I’m hoping that in the upcoming year my life won’t be in such shambles, but in case things take a sudden steep decline, I thought I’d try and “give back” first, by writing some kind of tool that y’all could use. Since, you know, it was eRoGK7’s resource-sharing web pages that got me into this in the first place.

So anyways, Gnoetry’s cool, but it’s a fair amount of work to set up. I tried to take the parts of Gnoetry I liked best, I simplified them, and I implemented them in that “Processing” environment that the kids seem to be into these days. (although Processing is a bit of a problem for developing GUIs, since they’re overriding the canvas to draw their animations. I had to use some library that didn’t even accept clipboard-pasted text (though it promised otherwise), so it turns out eGnoetry’s text import is done through com.sun.java.browser.plugin2.DOM. The export was hack-y enough…) on the bright side, I got to use a library with an n-gram model, which freed me to just implement the interface, which only took a couple days of spare-time coding. I tried to comment the code as much as possible, so you can look it over, change things, etc.

So anyways, here are some poems I came up with while developing it.

I basically use Shakespeare as a ‘Hello World’:

Alice in Wonderland is next. one pill makes you larger, baby:

uh…. salami and goat cheese?

HOD is a sign of impending maturity:

that livestock better watch out for His Majesty:

Anyways… I think I’ll stick to ePoGeeS from now on, but if you try out eGnoetry, lemme know whether it works for you and what happens if it doesn’t. So far I’ve tested it on:

  • Firefox 3.6 on Windows 7 with Java 1.6
  • Firefox 3.0 on Windows XP with Java 1.6
  • IE 6 on Windows XP with Java 1.6
  • Possible Problems using: Firefox 3.6 on Ubuntu Linux. Suggestion: check that you have Java installed, and maybe try the closed-source Java plugin: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Java
6 Comments leave one →
  1. eRoGK7 permalink*
    September 28, 2010 11:14 pm

    Really great of you to implement this. It looks nice, and it will certainly introduce some to Gnoetry who are not motivated enough to install it on their computer. If only that was easier and platform independent!

    I see the innuendos in that one poem too. Definitely very 6x6x6. It’s fun to be naughty.

    Oh, I’m having trouble getting eGnoetry to load in Firefox 3.6 in Ubuntu Linux. Probably not going to bother anybody. If you’re running Ubuntu with Gnome, it’s already easy to install Gnoetry.

    • eddeaddad permalink*
      September 29, 2010 12:01 am

      > I’m having trouble getting eGnoetry to load
      > in Firefox 3.6 in Ubuntu Linux.

      hmm… my first guess would be that it’s a problem with the Java version and/or the lack of a Java browser plug-in. as I recall, Linux distros tend to ship with open-source versions of Java that aren’t always 100% compatible with the closed-source Sun version I used…

      If anyone else has this problem on Ubuntu, I’d suggest checking that you got Java installed, and maybe try the closed-source Java version if need be:
      https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Java

      Thanks for the report!

  2. April 13, 2011 5:49 pm

    JoAnne Growney of the fascinating blog Intersections – Poetry with Mathematics has been checking out eGnoetry and let me know about some limitations.

    First of all, it’s not obvious, but to create a new language model you need to:
    1. paste the text into the ‘New Model Text’ textarea,
    2. click the ‘Import Model’ button
    After a few seconds, the ‘Model:…’ button should change to include the
    first couple words in the new model text. Then:
    3. click the ‘Regenerate Verse’ button.
    This is terrible GUI design, I know…

    Second, eGnoetry won’t let you create a new language model from text of less than five words.

    Third, if you create a new language model from text with no capitalized sentences, the applet will stop working and you need to restart it. (press shift and reload at the same time.)

    Thanks JoAnne, I’ll fix these next time I get a chance to work on eGnoetry!

Trackbacks

  1. netpoetic.com > Interactive Poetry Generation Systems: an Illustrated Overview
  2. Sketch: presenting… eGnoetry! « Gnoetry Daily « Media Arts X
  3. Gnoetry and the Age, Pt. 1 « Giù la testa!

Leave a Reply

