Skip to content

Gnoetry Daily compilation chapbook Release Candidate 2

November 9, 2011

Take a look at the second “ready for release” candidate for the Gnoetry Daily compilation: here in pdf!

I think it’s about ready to go… I improved the image resolution, changed the font size on a couple of the poems to make them fit on a single page (this also got rid of the blank pages), and inserted faded-grey headers with the section author’s name.

Take a look, let me know what you think, I’ll “finalize” it in a week or so if nobody has any major objections!

UPDATE: OK, here’s release candidate 3 (mostly typo edits)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric Elshtain permalink
    November 9, 2011 11:03 am

    Fantastic collection, if I do say so. The variety of “voices” (does that need scare-quotes?) is a great mindful earful; totally belying the now old-saw that computer-generation opposes poetical thinking.

  2. eRoGK7 permalink*
    November 11, 2011 2:19 pm

    It’s looking really good! Maybe we should make this a yearly kind of thing.

    Just saw Matthew’s introduction too. I’m glad you liked my intro, and this version you’ve made works wonderfully. I especially like where it ends: “What I’ve been / I’ve / been writing / to since.” Curious statement of a poetics. Reflective and suggestive of possibilities, as in you’ve been ______, and how are you writing out of that. Very nice.

    And edde, your introduction should be posted as a dedicated page on this site. I have not read a more clearly articulated statement on generative poetry anywhere.

    I agree with Eric E too, there are different voices here (I’m not really afraid of that word, but I also would not hesitate to say that Jackson Mac Low, Leslie Scalapino or Gertrude Stein have strong, distinctive voices) and a variety of poetic styles. I know that a big part of working with Gnoetry has been testing the possibilities and limitations of its poetics, how variously it can be used to make poetry that is solidly aesthetic, artful, perhaps lyric even, even as it challenges authorship with what could just as accurately be called cyborg authorship as human-machine collaboration.

    And my way is most often the Way of the Digital Poet. Maybe I’ll tread the Way of the Hacker someday too.

  3. November 12, 2011 2:56 am

    OK, here’s release candidate 3 (just minor typo edits in nathanielksmith and DaveTolkacz’s sections.)

    Maybe we should make this a yearly kind of thing.

    Yeah! I was thinking “occasional”, but yearly is good too.

    And edde, your introduction should be posted as a dedicated page on this site. I have not read a more clearly articulated statement on generative poetry anywhere.

    Ha ha! I originally posted it on netpoetic; the tone is inspired by Musashi’s Book of Five Rings and Dokkodo though on the netpoetic post I also cite Tsai Chih Chung.

    what could just as accurately be called cyborg authorship

    I dunno… even with today’s primitive technology there’s a lot more potential for cyborgness than gui search through n-gram language models…

    And my way is most often the Way of the Digital Poet. Maybe I’ll tread the Way of the Hacker someday too.

    I don’t really emphasize it, but literary theorists also follow the Way of the Scientist (i.e. study language and meaning.)

  4. November 12, 2011 11:38 am

    Thanks again, edde for your awesome hard work on this.

    “I dunno… even with today’s primitive technology there’s a lot more potential for cyborgness than gui search through n-gram language models…”

    Gnoetry may be the best interface to try a neural net on…

    “don’t really emphasize it, but literary theorists also follow the Way of the Scientist (i.e. study language and meaning.)”

    There’s a percentage that don’t. I do (in criticism) try to engage the sciences, but I wouldn’t expect to be considered “science” by scientists. When criticism is really bad it’s usually because it’s trying too hard to be like a science.

Leave a comment